After being gifted another year, and a new beginning of a new decade, what else is there to say but praise be unto God! By God’s grace, I know many facets of life will come into place properly during the next 10 years. Expect Qwamenah to really grow in his blogosphere, for example. 

Anyways, this is an old story from 2013 or so. Just a reminder that it’s not about immediate gratification for the work you do for God. He can use your efforts to make impact that will blow your mind, and you won’t know about it until much later…

Lizzy ran into her room, tears streaming down her face. She was tired of feeling so inferior to those she worked with and learnt from.

“I’m so tired of being ignored and undermined!” she wailed to herself. “I work so hard, yet it seems I almost have to beg people to support what I’m doing. I’m tired!”

She dropped to the floor and lay flat on the floor. “Lord, I know I do this for you, but it gets so hard sometimes, I get discouraged with all the lack of support I’m getting from those around me.

“I’m delighted to be singing for You, Lord, but it’s depressing when my own parents seem to be more concerned and supportive of my cousin, who’s doing it big.

I don’t want to be jealous of him, because I know all that he’s been through, and he’s been in the music industry longer than I have. But he’s not been as helpful as I had hoped. He rarely helps me out. I’m struggling in this thing, and he almost never checks up on me.

Lord, You know I don’t need to hit the music charts as high as he is. I’m not looking to be an iTunes hit. I don’t need to have 50,000 fans on my Facebook page, talking about how talented and anointed I am. It might be nice, but that’s not what I want. I just want a little appreciation, some support. My parents are more concerned with Sonny than with me, and I just feel so unpopular, like I’m wasting my time doing this. I hate it! Help me, Lord!”

For the next half hour, she lay there, crying out her frustrations to God. It was all true. She worked hard in her musical career, but was so unappreciated by those around her.

She then went silent and lay there, doing nothing. She just wanted to be silent before Him.

She dozed off in silence.

She saw herself standing in a place which was bright. Looking around, she was confused. “Where am I?” She said out loud.

A seven foot tall being, dressed in a brilliant white robe, appeared and called to her, “Elizabeth!”

She was startled at the sight of the large heavenly being.

“Fear not, Elizabeth,” he said calmly to her. “I am a messenger sent by the One who reigns forever to teach you something.”

“The Eternal King has seen your tears, and He understands your frustration. But He wants to open your eyes to the bigger picture. Hold my hand.”

Slightly hesitant, Lizzy reached out and held the angel’s hand. Straight away, she felt a sudden change in the atmosphere. She looked round, and saw that they were no longer in the bright place, but in a quiet town. Simple, quiet town, with the sun slowly setting.

“We are in Glostrup in Denmark,” the angel announced, still holding her hand. “Let me show you something.”

They moved to one of the houses and entered. Being in spirit form meant they wouldn’t be seen.

In the house was a young girl, probably about nineteen years old, happily singing with her mother. The joy in their eyes was too great to ignore.

Lizzy asked, “This is sweet, but… I don’t get it.”

The angel smiled. “They weren’t always like this. The young girl you see there was extremely rebellious, and fought with her mother almost every day. She was in bad company, drinking and smoking. She was so empty inside, but was still engaging in foolishness for vain satisfaction. One Tuesday afternoon, she visited a friend who is a Christian, and as her friend went to take some stuff for her, one of your songs started to play on the radio. I’ll Never Understand.”

“Wow,” Lizzy gasped, wide-eyed.

“The Holy Spirit used your song to convict her. She fell to her knees and started to weep like a child. Long story cut short, she crossed over to life in Christ.”

“Wow, I’m amazed! I always pray souls will be touched by my music, but to see one changed completely… I’m humbled that the Lord would use my work…”

“Well, there is one other thing I want to show you. Take my hand,” the angel said.

She held it tight, and before she knew it, the surroundings changed.

Now she found herself standing with the angel in front of a church.

“We’re in Chicago,” the angel announced, “and we’re going to meet a family with an interesting background.”

Already awed at the ‘trips’ she had just taken, Lizzy just stared blankly at the air as the angel gently led inside to see a big family before the altar. Young and old, they were all on their knees as an elderly man in front cried out words of gratitude to God. Tear stained faces whispered ‘Amen’ and ‘Hallelujah’ to each proclamation he made. It was a touching scene.

The angel turned to Lizzy. “Do you remember your song entitled ‘You’ll Be Loved’?”

Lizzy nodded. “Yeah, yeah, I do. There was a great burden on my heart to write that song.”

The angel nodded. “Indeed. The Master placed that burden on your heart, for it was in His divine will that you would help in the salvation of this entire family through that song.”

Lizzy was stunned.

The angel continued. “Out of the six young ones you see there, two of them were lost. Involved in dangerous street gang activities, with robbing and shooting and all. The grandfather of the house was one who loved cursing and drinking with a passion. The adults never got along. This family you see right right here was a family bound for hell.

“The young girl in the middle one day was invited to a youth meeting. She didn’t really attend to worship, she just wanted to waste some time so she wouldn’t go home early. One of the leaders there, who saw your song on YouTube, decided to just sing it as a form of encouragement. The words in the song hit her hard, but it wasn’t until she got home that the words really got into her soul, and gave the Holy Spirit leeway to turn her heart from one of stone to one of flesh. That very day, she started interceding profusely for the family. Her attitude changed, and she spoke to them about Christ every chance she got. Initially, she was insulted and tossed aside, especially by her mother and the old man of the house.

“But she persisted, and believe it, Elizabeth, within a period of seven months, all these people you see here turned from their evil ways. The gangsters just came home one day, put down their weapons and swore never to deal with street gangs anymore. It was such a joyous sight to us up there.

“And now, the three youngsters are leading a revival in their school. 33 souls have been won to the Kingdom. Their parents are all around the neighbourhood, sharing the Gospel. The old man is now preaching on a regular basis in the hospitals around, and 10 people so far have been born again.

“This is a family now on fire for the King. All because of a song written and recorded by you…”

By the time the messenger was done, Lizzy was crying, overwhelmed with the weight of the knowledge that had been given to her.

“I… I can’t believe God has used this little effort of mine to do something like this,” she sobbed. “I’m stunned. What have I done to…” She trailed off.

The angel smiled. “It’s all a part of His will. You’ve been faithful in your task, and the King is using it for His glory.”

Lizzy wiped her eyes and shook her head. “I’m just so… I don’t know what to say. What a God we serve!”

“Indeed, Elizabeth, He is greater and more powerful than your human mind could ever comprehend.” The angel then took her hand. In a minute, they were back in her home.

“So you see, that was the reason why the Master sent me. He wants you to know that He understands the pain you’re going through. He sees your frustration at how unappreciated you feel, and He’s noted your tears. But He wants you to understand that your efforts for the Kingdom aren’t going unnoticed, and that the efforts are reaping rewards greater than you could ever imagine. At the end of the day, it’s not about your popularity and how people on earth will admire you. It’s all about fulfilling His purpose. You may be ignored by your friends, cousins, siblings and parents, but His Majesty sees it all, and will happily reward you before all of heaven when Jesus comes to take His bride home.”

“I promise, I’m not going to bother myself with the opinions of others anymore,” Lizzy vowed, tears still flowing down her face. “I’ve seen enough. I’m going to pay attention and do what Jehovah expects of me. If He’s pleased with me, that’s all that matters. It’s all about Him now!”

The angel smiled. “Keep making music for His glory. He has greater plans than you ever could imagine. He’s going to use your weak efforts to do big things. Just remain faithful to your calling.” He then turned to leave, but stopped and turned towards her yet again.

“Before I leave, King Jesus wants you to know this: He loves you with an everlasting love, and nothing will ever change that. He can’t wait to have you in His glorious presence.”

Tears of overwhelming joy still flowing, she smiled as the angel bade her farewell, and disappeared.